DASA - Dignity for All Students Act

The goal of the Dignity Act is to create a safe and supportive school climate where students can learn and focus, rather than fear being discriminated against and/or verbally and/or physically harassed. All public elementary and secondary school students have the right to attend school in a safe, welcoming, considerate, and caring environment.

New York State Education Department Office of Curriculum, Instruction and Field Services Student Support Services

Every person has a right to his or her own beliefs. Regardless of those beliefs, educators have an obligation to ensure that all students in our schools feel safe, both physically and emotionally.

How we respond to messages of hate and bigotry is critical. If we condemn or alienate someone, we may lose that person entirely; but if we don’t respond, especially with a mind to thoughtfully educate, we silently encourage those messages.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not.” Dr. Seuss

Dignity for All Students Act Reporting Form


Lakeland Central School District Dignity Act Coordinator 
Ms. Rafferty, Supervisor for Alternative Programs - mrafferty@lakelandschools.org 
914-528-0600 ext. 39119

Benjamin Franklin ES Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Ms. Mecca, Assistant Principal - 
tmecca@lakelandschools.org
914-245-7444 ext. 39803

George Washington ES Building Dignity Act Coordinator  
Mr. Norman, Principal -  tnorman@lakelandschools.org
914-528-2021 ext. 39301 

Lincoln-Titus ES Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Mrs. McGowan, Principal - 
emcgowan@lakelandschools.org
914-528-2519 ext. 39501 

Thomas Jefferson ES Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Dr. Gagliardi, Principal -  
kgagliardi@lakelandschools.org
914-245-4802 ext. 39401 

Van Cortlandtville ES Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Dr. Yanoti, Asst. Principal - 
fyanoti@lakelandschools.org
914-528-1354 ext. 39603

Lakeland Copper Beech MS Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Mr. Casey, Grade 6 Assistant Principal - 
mcasey@lakelandschools.org
914-245-1885 ext. 39903 

Lakeland Copper Beech MS Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Ms. Bolner, Grade 7 Assistant Principal - 
dbolner@lakelandschools.org
914-245-1885 ext. 39923 

Lakeland Copper Beech MS Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Mr. Ruolo, Grade 8 Assistant Principal - 
fruolo@lakelandschools.org
914-245-1885 ext. 39933

Lakeland High School Building Dignity Act Coordinator
Mr. Mercurio, Assistant Principal - 
cmercurio@lakelandschools.org
914-528-0600 ext. 39103  

Walter Panas High School Building Dignity Act Coordinator 
Joseph Spero, Principal - jspero@lakelandschools.org

914-739-2823 ext. 23902