Contact Home Access Center Staff Resources Staff Email Staff Directory District Home

Quick Links

Para ver/leer la pagina web in Español por favor marca abajo la flecha y selecione "Spanish"

Google Translate


Si necesitas asistencia adicional por favor marca el numero 914-245-1700 extension 225

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Elementary Instructional Coaches

Elementary Instructional Coaches
What is an Instructional Coach?

An instructional coach is someone whose chief professional responsibility is to bring evidence-based practices into classrooms by working with teachers and other school leaders. In Lakeland, we focus on one-on-one support for teachers with the goals of increasing student engagement, improving student achievement, and building teacher capacity in schools.

Coaching is one-on-one professional development.
At its core, instructional coaching involves two people: the classroom teacher and the coach. Coaches work one-on-one and in small groups with teachers, providing guidance, training, and other resources as needed. Together, they focus on practical strategies for engaging students and improving their learning. Coaches also are often responsible for providing or arranging professional development activities for all teachers in a school or district.

Coaching is high-quality professional development.
Instructional coaching reflects the growing consensus about what constitutes high-quality professional development for teachers. It is job-embedded, addressing issues teachers face daily in their classrooms. It is ongoing, not a one-shot workshop. It is aligned to state standards, curriculum, and assessment. And its goal is twofold: improved instructional practice and improved student learning.

Who are the coaches?
Coaches are experienced, highly accomplished, and well-respected educators. Coaches must have credibility with teachers and administrators, the ability to juggle several roles, and the skills needed to work one-on-one with teachers as well as to oversee a wider professional development effort in the school.

 School and Phone Coaches and Email Addresses Content Area
Benjamin Franklin
914-245-7444
Elaine Alden
ealden@lakelandschoools.org
Math
Benjamin Franklin
914-245-7444
Jesse Guerra
jguerra@lakelandschools.org
Literacy
George Washington
914-528-2021
Lisa Barlow
lbarlow@lakelandschools.org
Math
George Washington
914-528-2021
Deana Polichetti
dpolichetti@lakelandschools.org
Literacy
Lincoln-Titus
914-528-2519
Tatiana Godinho tgodinho@lakelandschools.org Math
Lincoln-Titus
914-528-2519
Chris Urso
curso@lakelandschools.org
Literacy
Thomas Jefferson
914-245-4802
Kimberly Lamoureux
klamoureux@lakelandschools.org
Math
Thomas Jefferson
914-245-4802
Stacie Boylan
sboylan@lakelandschools.org
Literacy
Van Cortlandtville
914-528-1354
Jackie Catania
jcatania@lakelandschools.org
Math
Van Cortlandtville
914-528-1354
Kristin Doyle
kdoyle@lakelandschools.org
Literacy
Van Cortlandtville
914-528-1354
Alisha Wolf
awolf@lakelandschools.org
Special Education

 

 

 

 

 








last updated: 09/09/16